Thoughts from a brain injured mom…

I wrote this two years ago but the sentiments are still the same. πŸ’š

Mother’s Day is upon us now and this Mother’s Day I’m feeling so blessed and THANKFUL to be mom to four beautiful kids.

They are MY heros today and every day.

The months I was in bed, healing from this injury, my two oldest cooked my meals, their meals and my husband’s meals. They made sure I had fresh water by my bedside, medicines, and snacks. They did all the chores, fed the animals, washed dishes, and kept up with their schoolwork.

Sometimes they got discouraged but God kept them strong.

Now I’m able to do all those chores again, with a little help, of course.

Still, they don’t have a mom who can take them out to play at parks, and get ice cream, and do fun things anymore. (Daddy does that.) They don’t have someone who can go on long adventures like we could before. Someone who is strong and full of energy.

But they are loved!! They are happy. We spend time cuddling and giggling about silly things. We laugh at ourselves and find the humor in everything. We can read each others thoughts and finish each others sentences (sandwiches). We play movie line guessing games and read out loud together. They do plays and skits for me which make us all laugh until we cry. We aren’t the normal busy American family going places and doing fun things constantly but we have so much more because we have love and togetherness and that’s TRULY all we really need anyways.

Author: Viv

I'm a spoonie Blogger grieving the loss of my husband who went home 2/13/22.

45 thoughts on “Thoughts from a brain injured mom…”

  1. This is beautiful. You are so beautiful. Happy Mother’s Day. I’m praying for your complete healing. God bless you! ❀❀❀

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Soooo super sweet and true…family time together at home is probably better than time together out and about anyways because there’s not near as much distraction…you are such a sweet mama ❀️

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Oh Viv! The power of a loving family unit, helping one another, praying for one another, finishing each other’s sandwiches (sentences) lol! I know your kiddos feel so blessed to have a wonderful mom like you! I know we all here feel special that you call us friend! πŸ€—πŸ’œπŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh hehehe! So glad you got my Frozen humor! Thank you! I do feel blessed indeed. Like a quote I saw last week, “It’s not ideal but it’s the deal.” And for that, I can trust Him to get me through this “deal” in His time. I’m honored to have you and this community for friends! Renee, it makes all the suffering worth it! Oh, here come the tears! πŸ’šπŸ‘ŒπŸ™πŸ˜’πŸ˜€πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.